Strange Stars Races- Savage Worlds Style, Baby- Humans and Djägga

I am gearing up to run some Strange Stars (written by the sexy Trey Causey) with a small group of players in the near future (my GM burnout is starting to wane).  I am looking forward to running this as a change of pace that my group and I normally go through- which is A) taking a break from fantasy; B) and going with a more pulp/action feel VS the gritty deadliness I was doing in our 5e campaign, or the ultra high 0ctane meat grinder that is Hubris.

My Strange Stars game will be heavily inspired by Guardians of the Galaxy, Star Trek, Star Wars, and pulp action (1940’s two-fisted style).  To accomplish this I’ll be using Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition and the Sci-Fi companion.

Here’s my review of Strange Stars.  Here is Trey’s awesome links page of more Strange Stars goodness.

Anyways- I’m going to start throwing up some of the Strange Stars races with Savage Worlds rules (hopefully Trey will approve- if not, I’m sure there’s a help group out there that will help him cope with the disappointment of my choices).

Humans

blade_runner_0072

Humans are prevalent throughout the known universe, almost like a galactic cockroach.  Humans are tenacious and somehow always able to get themselves out of trouble.  Humans start with an additional edge and the Luck edge.

Djägga

“The vaguely feline humanoid djägga are hunters by nature and instinct, and many choose to hunt other sophonts as bounty hunters or assassins. Djägga tend to be solitary and are often mistrustful of others, but they’re loyal. They are also keen to avenge any perceived betrayal. Competitions can trigger their predator instincts, so it’s prudent to avoid games with djägga, particularly ones involving a physical component (SS, pg 8).”  Here’s an old post by Trey about the Djägga.

 SS Outer Rim Spread

Agile: The feline grace of the djägga grant them d6 in Agility rather than d4.

Keen Senses:  Djägga have heightened senses, granting +2 to notice rolls when using sight, hearing, or smell.

Natural Hunters: Djägga begin with a d6 in tracking.

Rage: A Djägga beings with the Berserk edge (SWDX, pg 32).

Mistrustful of Others: Djägga are slow to trust others or situations beyond their control.  All djägga have the Cautions Hindrance (SWDX, pg 28)

Avenge any Betrayal: Djägga can be vindictive and will hold a grudge on any perceived slight against them.  Djägga have the Vengeful Hindrance (major) (SWDX, pg 31).

Author: Mike Evans

I am the dude behind DIY RPG Productions. I have a fuck all punk rock attitude, love meeting new people, doing nature shit, and gaming (tabletop and console) and having a good time. I love craft beer (maybe too much), punk, grunge, and industrial music. I write books. Good for me.

3 thoughts

  1. Are you going to post PDFs of the Strange Star stuff like you do for White Star? Just askin. . .

Leave a comment