Hubris: God Eat God- The Lupine (Mörk Borg Edition)

It’s been quite a spell since I’ve written anything. In that post I talked about going through the grieving process of losing my dog of 18 1/2 years and trying to find joy… nearly a month to the day after I posted it, my dad passed away from a very short battle with cancer.

Love ya, pops.

Needless to say losing him put me back into the horrible stages of grief and reopened the wound that was healing with losing Perfect. Most days I just existed in a state appropriately displayed by this gif. As Toe Talbot of IDLES says, “I am my father’s son, his shadow weighs a ton.”

I’m doing better now, learning, accepting, all that good shit.

With that, for the first time since since I wrote that post, I actually felt like writing something. And my muse took me back to the Hubris: God Eat God project I started two years ago, right before/during losing Perfect:). Was really enjoyable to dip my toe back into the water today:).

The Lupine was very much inspired by old Marvel Wolfsbane Trading cards back in the day, hence why I used that as the art;P.

Who knows, maybe the muse will continue- but I’m taking my time and healing and finding joy in what I do, not because I have to do it.


Be well all!

Mike Evans

LUPINE

Beast, savage, werewolf-spawn… People are uncomfortable with your savagery, your thrill of the hunt and kill.  You consider very few people friends as you know most will never understand you.  You are wild.  You are untamed.  You make your own way.

Aspect of the Wolf: Have claws and fangs (d2 dmg), make attack with all three each round, DR 14 each (cannot move that round).  Twice a day tap into your ferocity (DR 14 Presence test), becoming an even more fearsome opponent.  Become larger and bestial; claws and fangs elongate (d4 dmg) and attack DR -2.  Tests to move silently or hide DR -2. Lasts whole combat (or 10 min out of combat). 

Begin with 3d10 x 10s, d3 Omens, crossbow (Agility + 10 jagged bolts).  Start with Toughness + d6 HP. 

Abilities: Nimble, roll 3d6+2 Agility.  Short-tempered, all Presence tests for interacting with people, DR +d4.  Extremely sharp sense of smell- detect the strong smells and odors, DR 10 to track.  Roll d4 on Weapons Table and d2 for Armor Table.  You also being with one of the following:

  1. Barbed Whip: Was once used to punish you.  Now you use it with glee.  d3 dmg.  Attempt to trip target Agility DR 14.
  2. Bottle of Screams: Once per day open and release torrent of screams in targets face.  DR 12 Toughness test, d6 damage and stunned as chunks of flesh blow off from force of scream. All in area take d2 dmg from the noise.  No test.
  3. Hide of the Wolf Mother: Cloak passed through your family.  Hide of ancestor enchanted by witch.  Don hood to become full wolf.
  4. Serrated Bleeding Blade: Deal d4 dmg to self, blade bleeds.  Next attack critical is 18-20. 
  5. Horn of the Swamps: Made from the lacquered liver of a Bog Witch.  Once per day, blow on horn to summon a torrent of slimy toads that cover a 30 area.  All must make DR 14 test or step on frog and fall and DR 14 Toughness test or poisons, +d4 to all rolls for 1 hour.
  6. The Unnecessary Key: Key that looks off from every direction.  Use Omen Point to automatically unlock/lock a door.

During the Feast of the Gods you: 1) Were nearly driven into a permanently feral state… that area of the forest is still dark and silent from your savagery; 2) Participated in the hunt of a mutated Bog Witch; 3) Slaughtered a troupe of Eisenbar Paladins killing animals needlessly; 4) Hid in a cave, trembling, raking your claws down your arms; 5) Felt the twisting of reality, collapsing, coalescing, and ending.  You fainted; 6) Participated in a spicy sausage eating contest in honor of the Corpulent One- you won!  Then blacked out.

Author: Mike Evans

I am the dude behind DIY RPG Productions. I have a fuck all punk rock attitude, love meeting new people, doing nature shit, and gaming (tabletop and console) and having a good time. I love craft beer (maybe too much), punk, grunge, and industrial music. I write books. Good for me.

Leave a comment