Writing Again

Heyyo all my peeps! I hope you’re doing amazing and have exciting plans for the weekend.

Some good news is I’ve finally had the muse bite me a few weeks ago and started writing again. Losing my dog really… just made me not give a fuck about much. Still feels that way in many ways- but moving through the grieving process, ya know? Anyways, sob story aside.

Two mini-adventures for Barbarians of the Ruined Earth. These will both in a single book (see the covers above). Another adventure is in the proofing stages, so yay:).

Next I’m working on a Meat Grinder adventure for Hubris and then I will finish the last 13 room descriptions for the Forever Dungeon so Kelvin can draw those and I can wrap up the book, so it can be proofed and then Matt can tackle layout.

Finally, a setting idea that I started pondering back in 2012 (old post 1, 2, and 3) has wormed it’s way back into my brain.

Inspirations: Botw, TotK, Over the Garden Wall, Alice in Wonderland, Ravenloft, Type O’ Negative music, Adventure Time, Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Wizard of Oz, Labyrinth, Blues, Jazz (and Roaring 20’s), Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus, Tom Waits, Dark Cabaret, Little Nemo in Slumberland, Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, and more.

This is a work in progress, but this is the summary I hope captures the feel I’m going for.

Be well all!

Nestled between where dreams rest and magic is found, is a peculiar, special place. Where the imagination is substance, effecting the very world. Where fae, robots, spirits, talking animals, and humans call this place home. Where strange beings, wild spells, epic festivals, and so much more exists.

In New Country, on the Lake of Time, rests the Proper Palace, home of the The One Who Rules and their court. Surrounding the lake is Capital City, bright, mystical, and breathtaking; Bright lights, jazz, circuses, dance halls, and late night galas!

In Old Country, find the Crossroads and make a deal with The Haggler to become more than you’ve always dreamed, knowing full well what it will cost.  Visit dusty farms, listen to the blues wafting from windows, and stop by  Travel to the County of Graves, where most of the dead go to spend their death years in peace.

Adventure is everywhere!  Ruins of forgotten imaginations and machinations dot the land. Brave Heroes, Plucky Thieves, Cunning Detectives, Potioneers, and Dreamers, all risk life and limb for glory, coin, and fun!

But remember… where there are dreams and imagination, so too are there nightmares. Vicious horrible things, corrupting the land and any it touches, turning them into Nightmares as well.

Sadly where there is joy, there is pain, for not all dreams are good. Schemers, brutish mooks, and seedy grifters are always looking for their big opportunity.

Somewhere out there, resting atop the first laugh, next to a dream of going to the moon, at the end of a final breathe, and in the hearth of an excited child with a new toy, you’ll find The Land of Odd.

Posted in Uncategorized

Author: Mike Evans

I am the dude behind DIY RPG Productions. I have a fuck all punk rock attitude, love meeting new people, doing nature shit, and gaming (tabletop and console) and having a good time. I love craft beer (maybe too much), punk, grunge, and industrial music. I write books. Good for me.

Leave a comment