Hubris: God Eat God- The Mörk Borg Edition

Howdy all! I hope this post finds you doing awesome! It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything… Honestly I’ve still been suffering from burnout and real life work’s been keeping my busy.

My team and I recently opened a new tool lending library in Rochester, NY and have been having a blast!

I even made a super high tech video for us;)

Not talking about real life stuff now! On to the writing stuff!

Soooo yeah… started writing again! That’s exciting. I really haven’t written much in a year to be honest- been needing to recharge.

For roughly the past year I’ve been playing with a group of cool peeps in a monthly Western-Marshes Hubris game, using my own DIY RPG Rules, and it’s been a blast… I’ve really been mulling the idea of making a new/rules lite version of Hubris because, while I dig DCC and love the community, I just don’t have the time/drive to play that ruleset right now and the idea of carrying two 5 lbs books just to play a game seems exhausting to me…

So while I have my own rules that I could use, I’ve decided to go with Mörk Borg for a few reasons: 1) I really dig it’s presentation, feel, and simplicity; 2) it’s already tested and I can build off of that instead of reinventing the fucking wheel; 3) kinda fatigued and the constant release of rulesets, and while yes I did one myself I don’t plan on, at this juncture, to take it further than beta; 4) it’s what the muse has told me to do so I ain’t gonna fuck with that; 5) It’s a metal game and Hubris is a metal game… So there; 6) I dunno… I really enjoy the “brevity is the soul of wit philosophy, and would like to figure out how to cut down a nearly 300 page book into a smaller/more manageable format.

What’s Gonna Be In the Book

I plan on having everything you need to play, thanks to Mörk Bork’s OGL. There will be the standard character creation system and the optional classes (listed below), with weapon generation and cool unique possible starting weapons.

The general gist, at least right now, is taking that whole the world is ending thing in Mörk Bork and make it work in Hubris… Rather than doing the whole, the world is coming to an end and will cease to exist, I’m looking at it as the world has ended and will continue to endure in a depressing gonzo slaughterfest, but with it getting weirder and weirder, which leads into the whole calendar/psalm mechanic in MB. So the world came to an end because at one of their giant Caligula-like god orgies, the deities of Hubris got bored and started eating one another, bring about ruin and destruction, like what happens to a person’s bowels when they eat the all you can eat shrimp buffet at a strip club (smart choice).

I will be rewriting each territory of Hubris with new Lay of the Lands and Encounters, but most likely will only be a d20 table each (I ain’t got time and energy to do d100’s anymore- GET OFF MY LAWN!).

I will incorporate all the charts and tables in the original Hubris book, but with some pruning/rewriting. Enemies will get a reworking, pruning, and rewriting and there will be a new adventure with the new rules.

Optional Classes

Bloodwich

Lupine

Pus Diviner (looks at pus and catches glimpses of the future)

Murder Machine

Avarian

Mutant

Ekrask

Alchemist

Shadowjumper

Druid

The Corrupted (a person permanently contaminated after Necroid possession. Necroid’s are Hubris version of Deadites).

The Schismed (these are the clerics of the gods that DIDN’T kill themselves as they felt their deity being chewed on and digested).

I’ll start posting more of this as I write it.

Oh- the other thing on rediscovering the joy of writing again is I’m doing it how I did it writing the Original Hubris- by hand. And while I know that is gonna double the amount of work, like it did with the original book- I’m like:

Be well everyone

Mike Evans

Author: Mike Evans

I am the dude behind DIY RPG Productions. I have a fuck all punk rock attitude, love meeting new people, doing nature shit, and gaming (tabletop and console) and having a good time. I love craft beer (maybe too much), punk, grunge, and industrial music. I write books. Good for me.

3 thoughts

Leave a comment