Author: Mike Evans

I am the dude behind DIY RPG Productions. I have a fuck all punk rock attitude, love meeting new people, doing nature shit, and gaming (tabletop and console) and having a good time. I love craft beer (maybe too much), punk, grunge, and industrial music. I write books. Good for me.

8 thoughts

  1. Not sure if you’ll even see this…

    I’ve stumbled across this a few times and each time I’ve kind of grinned and gone, “man, that looks so cool.”

    Well, I actually started reading through it and decided to use your background/origin generation stuff, which is awesome by the way.

    But I ran into an issue. I rolled for my family origin and got “Boarderlander,” which sounds awesome. But I cannot find any reference, whatsoever, to a borderland or boarderland (except for a blurb on the wiki about Ukraine, Belarus, and the Baltic States being a sort of borderland between Poland and Russia) anywhere.

    Am I missing something?

    1. Thanks for the praise Jon!

      The borderlander is just someone who lives on the fringes of society. There are several cities in Shadowrun that have ruined areas, or there are uncivilized wastes, and that is where your family is from.

      1. Thank you for the quick response, zombie! I had a feeling this was the correct interpretation.

        You wouldn’t happen to have any in-setting examples would you? Like from a sourcebook? I’m not trying to be a pain, I’m just trying to make sure I’m framing this concept correctly for my players; i.e., would you consider the SOX a borderland? Or are the literal fringes of the Seattle Sprawl (where things are lawless and barren, even though they’re still a “cityscape”) more in line?

        Thanks again, zombie!

      2. I don’t have any books off-hand that I can source for you…

        I do have my Vornheim hack for Shadowrun that has examples of borderlanders…

        Click to access shadowrun-city-kit.pdf

        I’d say look at page 6 and 9.. They have small descriptive texts on where a borderlander would live (IE- Queens).

        Also feel free to look at/use the hack for city generation… It’s pretty handy.

      3. This is awesome. I looked over those pages and that’s a great example of what I was trying to find.

        Thanks a ton for the clarification!

  2. Hey just thought of a hindrance that is forgotten
    Deal Maker (Major)
    You have made a deal with a Dragon!! Discuss with your DM/GM on what the deal was.

Leave a comment