Using Drop Die Table for Mutation Monsters

The other day I did a post on mutations in my setting, Hubris.  Not only do Half Elves start out as mutated freaks, but as players cast arcane magic spells and fight mutated creatures it is possible for them to become mutated as well…  such a lovely place.

So mutated adversaries..  I COULD roll a few d100 and get results, but that takes too damned long for creatures that are either going to be beaten to death with a stick or kill the players and eat their feet…  so I decided to use the Die Drop tables method I nabbed from Zak (Instadungeon, Instaregion) to use for this.

Drop the Die and you got yourself some freaks

Here it is as a PDF if you prefer: Mutation Die Drop Chart

Just drop a number of d6 as mutants present and where they land is the mutations that they have.   If it lands on the line of multiple squares, then they have all those mutations…  tasty.

The number on the die is the HD of the monster.  I use Castle and Crusade rules as the base for my hack so the number also refers to the bonus they get on attack and to saves etc…  Simple and effective rules.

I decided to also try rounding the number on the die down by 1/2 for my players since they were level one and fighting a bunch of creatures with +6 didn’t exactly sound so much as fun as a slaughter house…  Here’s a few freaks and geeks I rolled.

Mutants

1)      Level 2- Albino looking

2)      Level 3- Unhinged Mind and Hair Smells like Garbage

3)      Level 2- Extra Arm and Reptilian Skin

4)      Level 3- No hair on Entire Body, Patagium, and Half Bat Face

5)      Level 1- Pink Hair and Elongated Arms

6)      Level 3- Scorpion Tail and Scorpion Claw

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

3 responses to “Using Drop Die Table for Mutation Monsters

Leave a Reply

