Instatown Using Zak’s Method and Vornheim

A long long time ago, on a blog post far far away, Zak showed a quick, easy, and awesome way to generate dungeons on  the fly.  Last month we saw this insta”X” evolve into INSTAREGION, which again, is a quick and easy way to generate locations and interests in the surrounding area.

The other day I started thinking that the same thing could be used to create an instatown.  Zak has already given the foundation of this method in his Vornheim book on page 71 (PDF) or Inside Back Cover (Print).

Before I rolled the dice I was hit with inspiration on having the d6’s mean something.

Here’s what I came up with:

The number facing up on the d6:

1-     Rumor

2-     Active Problem

3-     Job

4-     Interesting Situation

5-     Strange and Random Item

6-     More Than What it Seems

After that I placed a blank piece of white paper over the Vornheim chart and tossed the dice.  I traced the boxes that the dice had landed on and boom- in 5 minutes I had a map (see pics below).  These took longer because I inked the fucking things and what not.

Town 1

Based on the dice here is what I ended up with:

Town 1

Butcher- Active Problem

Cheesemaker- Interesting Situation

Gambling Hall- Job

Hatter- Job

Jeweler- Strange and Random Item

MarketHall-Job

Mason- Rumor

Printer/Engraver- Active Problem

Shoemaker- More Than What it Seems

Stonecarver- Rumor

So I have a bunch of ideas for what could be going on in this town, should my players decided to stroll through.

Town 2

Based on the dice here is what I ended up with:

Town 2

Farm- Rumor

Curiosity Shop- More Than What it Seems

Furrier- Rumor

General Outfitter- More Than What it Seems

Granary- Strange and Random Item

Leatherworks- Interesting Situation

MarketHall-Active Problem

Money Lender- Rumor

Ostler- Job

Tavern- More than What it Seems

Taxidermist- Job

*I added the tavern and farm because I felt like the town could use one.

Both maps I added in residences throughout and even those, if you felt so inclined, could get a d6 roll to see what is going on.  I drew streets on the first map and said fuck it on the second….  It doesn’t have paved streets because they’re too hardcore.  However I added where the doors were in case that was needed for player knowledge.

Crafting these towns and maps literally took me about 10 minutes.  I now have two maps I can use if needed.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

5 responses to “Instatown Using Zak’s Method and Vornheim

Leave a Reply

