Firefly: Hurtlin’ Through the ‘Verse Session- Tying the Characters Together

This Sunday I am going to a session of Firefly: Hurtlin’ Through the ‘Verse for a few friends, but the kicker is I’m not going to use the rules I created using the AGE system.  I’m going to use one of my favorite systems: Savage Worlds.

I’ve created some Edges and Hindrances based off my Wrath of Zombie as well as inspired by two other Firefly Savage Worlds conversions (here and here).  I also found a cool fan made generic Sci-Fi kit that has an AWESOME adventure generator (pages 39-41).

This is basically a one shot, with the hopeful possibility of playing more often (we’ll see).  The first session is inspired by Brandon’s own Firefly game (to my players- don’t peak!).

Into the Black

I wanted the characters to be linked together somehow and have a quick story as to why (see the amazingly awesome picture below).

I rolled up who knew who through various jobs.

I got skillz

 

At the start of the game the players will roll a d6 to determine how long they have known one another:

1-2- Just met on a job (within a month)

3-4- Met months ago- roll 1d6

5-6- Met 1d3 years ago.

 

After that I thought it would be a great opportunity to utilize the Interlude rules from SWDX, pg 91.  Give the players 5 minutes to come up with a story and BOOM!  We know how/why they are together and we will be hurtlin’ through the ‘Verse!

 

What are Interludes?  Well I’m so glad you asked!  Check em out!

 

I will have a session recap for Firefly next week!

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

2 responses to “Firefly: Hurtlin’ Through the ‘Verse Session- Tying the Characters Together

  • Chuck

    Sounds like its going to be fun. You know maybe if you have the chance check out some of the Deadlands stuff for that Western feel.

    • wrathofzombie

      Yeah I have Deadlands: Reloaded and have mined it for stuff 🙂 Not to mention rewatching Firefly and a couple other westerns. Also gonna rewatch Blade Runner for that cyberpunk “dirty” feel 🙂

Leave a Reply

