TRPBTNTWAs

Noisms over at Monsters and Manuals did a cool post last week asking bloggers to discuss things that normally are not broached in the RPG blogging world.

Here we go-

TRPBTNTWAs

  • Book Binding– I like quality binding for my books.  They cost a pretty penny (generally) and I want them to hold up.  I was really disappointed when I purchased Savage Worlds Explorer’s Edition and opened it up and heard the terrible crack (freshly open I shit you not) of the glue breaking and all the pages began to fall out like tears of a small broken child..  I contacted Pinnacle and they sent me a new copy and it held up for a few days and then fell apart again..  I know I know SWEX is $9.99, but damn..  still…  That’s one reason I like the Pathfinder book..  That thing holds up.. You could beat a man to death with that book and it will still be perfect.
  • Doing a Voice- I do voices constantly for every one of my characters.  For women I either just do my own voice or make it slightly higher without being comical.  I may just change where I speak from.  For women I speak with my head and not the chest.  I do inflections.  The hardest part is remembering all of it.
  • Breaks– We generally play for 6-8 hours so we have one break where we either go get dinner or I cook something for everyone..  I am such a domesticated DM, but I love cooking.
  • Description- I tend to try to find a balance with my descriptions.  I like to give just enough to help formulate something in my players minds, but I don’t go overboard and rob them of their own interpretations.  I take the Laurell K. Hamilton approach VS the Anne Rice approach.
  • Where do you strike the balance between “doing what your character would do” and “acting like a dickhead”?- I tend to look at this on a situation by situation basis.  I examine what is going on, the goals of the player and the possible effects it will have on everyone else and make a call.  I’m not afraid to say no for the good of the game and the group.
  • PC-on-PC violence. Do your players tend to avoid it, or do you ban it? Or does anything go?- I don’t like PvP in tabletop..  It’s one thing if a Vampire is controlling a character VS one player is being an idiot and everyone has to take them down.  Our gaming time is precious and while you may think your character is a beautiful and unique snowflake, he’s not.  We are all part of the same compost pile (thanks Chuck Palahniuk).  We work together for group enjoyment.  If you’re not there for that, then you need to go home and play a video game.
  • How do you explain what a role playing game is to a stranger who is also a non-player?-  I am an open role-player and proud of it.  It is my passion and my hobby.  I just say I role-play.  If they get a confused look on their face I say, “You know- Dungeons and Dragons.”  I usually get the, “oooh.. You’re one of THOSE people.”  I then point to the Star Wars tattoos all over my body and say, “Yep… One of THOSE people.”  Many times though people ask about it afterwards, because they are generally curious.  I try to do it in the generalist of terms and sometimes they are interested in trying it.
  • Alchohol at the table– I drink….  Alcohol is welcome.  As long as people don’t get stupid.
  • What’s acceptable to do to a PC whose player is absent from the session? Is whatever happens their fault for not being there, or are there some limits?- Depending on where we were when the session last ended.  If we are in a city I usually just have the character of the absent player go off on their own and come back with an amusing story of debauchery and shenanigans.   If the we stopped in a dungeon, or the like, I tend to just push the player to the background.  Untouchable.  If there is a TPK, then that player does die too.  None of my players in any of my games in 17 years have ever complained about this.  I’m up front that is how I do it.  People are busy, life and shit happen.  RPGing is a game..  A hobby.  Life takes precedence.
About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

Leave a Reply

