Two Year Anniversary Contest!!

Yesterday I hit the 2 year mark on my RPG Blog and I decided what better way to celebrate than with a contest!

The Objective:

Take a song that inspires you and create a plot hook out of it. It can be for any genre of RPG. Don’t make this extremely detailed; at most one paragraph. The point is to create a cool plot hook that is open for a GM to take it where they want to go, but give them enough to inspire/motivate.

It doesn’t have to incorporate everything from the song, but I and other readers should be able to look at the song and see where you got the idea from (see Example below).

The Rules:

As stated above, no overly long submissions.

People can enter multiple times.

Submissions must be received by August 2, 2011.

Do not post submissions here. Email them to me at ihaveangerissues-AT-g-m-a-i-l dawt com.

Please include your name, Nick or Handle (if you have one), your blog address (if you have one), Song Title, Artist, and Song Lyrics, and a link to youtube with the song (if the song is on youtube, otherwise I’ll find it).

I am planning on releasing all submissions as a PDF for free once contest is over, so make sure you are comfortable with your entry being in the final product when you are submitting it. We’ll see how that goes however.

Winner and Prize:

There is only First Place Prize Winner and that will be determined by myself.

The prize is a $20 Gift Certificate to Drivethru RPG. I will send this to the email address I received the submission from and no other so please be aware of that. I will email you as well when I have sent it, so please make sure to check your spam and etc.

I will not be buying/sending a second one if you don’t receive it.

Disclaimer: Drivethru is in no way sponsoring, participating, or funding or advocating this contest. This is all funded, thought of, and monitored right here by me at wrathofzombie.

Check out the example below and feel free to email me with any questions! Good luck to all and I’m looking forward to awesome ideas!

Example:

The Fragile by Nine Inch Nails

She shines
In a world full of ugliness
She matters when everything is meaningless

Fragile
She doesn’t see her beauty
She tries to get away
Sometimes
It’s just that nothing seems worth saving
I can’t watch her slip away

I won’t let you fall apart

She reads the minds of all the people as they pass her by
Hoping someone can see
If I could fix myself I’d-
But it’s too late for me

I wont let you fall apart

We’ll find the perfect place to go where we can run and hide
I’ll build a wall and we can keep them on the other side
…but they keep waiting
…and picking…

It’s something I have to do
I was there, too
Before everything else
I was like you

Plot Hook: A humble, yet stunningly beautiful, female who is important on some level one of the players (this can be lover, sister, cousin, mother, etc) has been raped, beaten, and left in an alley to die.

As she lay there bleeding, she is somehow able to reach out with her mind to call for help (possibly a magic-user) entering into the players mind. The player sees flashes of the incident and a glimpse of the alley.

The player must now find where she is before she dies. As she gets closer to death the images become much more intense to the player and start inflicting Wisdom damage (this can drive the player insane).

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

5 responses to “Two Year Anniversary Contest!!

Leave a Reply

