A Firefly RPG… But What System, Savage Worlds or AGE (Dragon Age)

Awesomesauce

Edit: I have finished Firefly up through Box Set 2 release of Dragon Age as of 03/16/11.

Here is the full PDF.

Firefly Hurtlin Through the Verse V2

I love the Firefly show. It’s amazing. It’s early demise is also a sign of how producers and TV companies can kill a perfectly amazing show (airing the episodes out of order when they build on one another.. honestly).

I’ve been reading the session recaps of a pretty awesome Firefly game on Obsidian Portal and it has put me in the mood to: A) Watch the show all over again. B) Eventually (and I stress eventually- I’m doing too many games as it is right now) run a Serenity/Firefly game.

I’m not a huge fan of the Cortex system however (no offense to those who like it), and I was pondering that if I wanted to do this game, what system would I use?

It’s a toss up between Savage Worlds or The Dragon Age system, AGE.

For info on Savage Worlds- click here. For info on Dragon Age/AGE mechanic- click here.

I think both systems have quite a bit to offer in terms of catching the Firefly feel. There is definitely some work involved to port to either system and get it right, but I think it would also be fun to do.

Hell even FATE would be a quick and easy system to use for Firefly, but I think I’m more set on either Savage Worlds or AGE.

What about you? What system could you see for Firefly? Out of SW or AGE, which would work best?

Here is a quick idea for AGE that I had. It is by no means complete, but just a bare bones of how it could work.

AGE System

Backgrounds
Browncoat
Class options- Soldier and Drifter

Alliance Agent
Class options- Soldier and Noble

Merchant
Class options- Drifter and Noble

Frontier Bumpkin
Class options- Soldier and Drifter

Core Worlds Born and Bred
Class Options- Soldier and Noble

Classes
*There is no Psychic class like River. I thought about incorporating that, but River is a special and very unique case and didn’t feel that the setting needed a ton of psychics running around.
Soldier
Drifter (Rogue)
Noble

Thoughts?

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

9 responses to “A Firefly RPG… But What System, Savage Worlds or AGE (Dragon Age)

Leave a Reply

