Pathfinder Pirate Campaign is a Go and GM Burnout Behind me

I mentioned two months ago that I was suffering from GM Burnout and was taking a break from GMing. I took a little break from blogging for the first month and not really doing anything RPG, save for playing in a Gamma Worlds and Pathfinder game my friend decided to run.

However during the second month I started to get the itch again and jumped full bore into planning my Pirate Campaign and looking at all the goals I set myself for it. I think I’m ready to hit it this shit on the head with a hammer… or any blunt object really, including some o’ my player’s heads.

So we will be starting my Pathfinder Pirate Campaign this Sunday, and I’ve pretty much had each of my player’s make their characters already, save for the Aspects part of it, which I believe is a group activity.

I’ve created a bunch of NPC’s on my Obsidian Portal page (check em out) and given them each a good personality that will bring out the flavor of Freeport.

Premise

The players are going to be employed by a man named Old Barton to be part of his organization called the Pirate’s Eye, a private eye group.

Obviously I want to leave the way cases and encounters are solved completely up to the players and since this is a pirate campaign the shades of grey are going to stretch pretty far.

I’ve already got three story arcs prepared that will feed into one another as one is wrapping up and the new one begins.

Session Recaps for Nothing and Boogers for Free

I still plan to do Session Recaps on Obsidian Portal and Behind the Scenes (which are explanation of cool things that players did or thoughts on game mechanics, etc) on my blog.

I’ve been thinking that instead of my normal 3rd person iterations of session recaps I would do them like The Dresden Files, being journal entries by Boisterous Kate, a whore/secretary and free spirit. I’m not sure if this is the way I’ll go since I’ll have to see when I start writing the recaps and see how easily the personality and story flows.

I will definitely have a session recap up as soon as I can after Sunday!

I will also be blogging on my feelings of E6 and how I feel it is working with Pathfinder.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

One response to “Pathfinder Pirate Campaign is a Go and GM Burnout Behind me

  • anarkeith

    Looking forward to hearing more, Mike. Your games are always full of great ideas it seems, and your players seem to be on it creatively. And pirates are made of awesome. Always.

Leave a Reply

