What Got You Into Role-Playing? Your First Session?

I’m eager to hear different peoples experiences on what got them into Role-Playing and about the first time they played!

Into the Realm of Role-Playing

What got me into RPG’s was Final Fantasy 1 for Nintentdo. I loved it. However what REALLY cemented it for me was Final Fantasy II and III for Super Nintendo. I played those two games to death and they still rank as some of my all time favorite games! I loved that there was this great storyline and that the characters had depth and developed as the game continued. I was hooked to RPG’s and rented and bought any RPG I could get my hands on at that point.

My First Roll of the Dice

When I was 15 I had moved to Montana from California and met some really cool people, all who had diverse passions. Art, comics, music, dancing, drinking, acting, and gaming.

My friend Brian and I went to my house to hang after play rehearsal with one of the other actors, Malcolm (who we were becoming friends with) to hang out. We starting talking shop on different video games and how we all liked RPG’s.

Malcolm asked us if we had ever played Dungeons and Dragons. Neither of us had so Malcolm got really excited and started talking to us about the awesomesauce nature of DnD and role-playing.

He ran home and got his books and we began making characters and he ran us on a 4 hour tour of the magic of role-playing.

Yes it was awkward because we didn’t know the rules and we stumbled here and there, but Malcolm was an awesome guide and he handled our bumps and falls with grace and kept us going.

Sadly Malcolm (who graduated High School the previous summer) was busy with doing acting in two play houses and working two jobs didn’t have much time to do more DMing. However I was invited to be a player in a Shadowrun 2e game his friend was running for him and a few other friends of mine.

I was hooked from that point on. I loved role-playing! The dynamics, the ever changing tide of what is happening, and the development! The story is truly the players and the GM together.

Within one month of being introduced to Role-playing I took up the mantel of DMing and began to run my own games, both Advanced Dungeons and Dragons and Shadowrun.

Now here I am 15 years later, and still a little kid in a candy shop when it comes to RPGing!

What about you? What’s your story?

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

9 responses to “What Got You Into Role-Playing? Your First Session?

  • Netlich

    Around 12 years old and I was already addicted to the Lone Wolf books and with early CRPGs (Bard’s Tale, Phantasie, Ultima). An article on a game magazine described this new world of Dungeons and Dragons somewhere along that period, so at around 13 I was rolling my first dice.

    In fact my first tabletop sessions were not DnD per se, but a hybrid game I was forced to create myself. We could not find the Player’s Hanbook and only got the DMG so I sorta generated an amalgam of rules from the computer games I had played, from the DMG and the Lone Wolf Books and ended up with a great game we played for a few months till I got the player’s handbook and the Monstrous Compedium. I had even implemented a SAVE and LOAD rule!!!

    It is now 20 years and I still remember the little post-it notes I was using for maps, quests, save game scripts and other stuff!!! 😀

  • wrathofzombie

    LOL. A save and load function eh? That’s awesome. Yeah I remember all the goofy things I did when I was a young GM, thinking it was soooo clever.. *sigh*

  • kevnav9

    I started role playing because of my 7th Grade English teacher. The class was reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy and we all had to complete a project associated with the theme or storyline of the books. My teacher had several copies of the original DnD blue book (this was 1977 after all!) and she offered to let a group of us play a few sessions as our project. I was one of the DMs….and I was hooked.

    I played off and on through high school, but I always found it hard to avoid the stigma of being a role playing gamer….I wanted to fit into the cool crowd more than I wanted to game. BIG mistake! Fortunately, computer RPGs came along soon after. They let me get my RPG fix without having to “come out of the closet” as a gamer.

    Now that I have kids of my own I have introduced them to paper RPGs. They enjoy them a lot, but now I find that I am so busy with work and other activities that we don’t have time to play much. I hope, however, that I’ve started them down the road of a lifetime of gaming enjoyment, and helped them overcome the negative reputation associated with being dedicated gamers.

    • wrathofzombie

      Your teacher got you into RPGing? Very cool. That took some gile to do it in a school setting in earlier years, especially because the negative clout surrounding role-playing was much stronger than it is now.

      You keep those kids o’ yours playing! I don’t know what systems you use, but for low prep low rules games that would allow you to play as well I would recommend Savage Worlds or Dragon Age.

  • >B

    In 1988, when I was ten, a classmate and friend of mine picked up the “Red Box” and “Blue Box” D&D sets at a yard sale on his street. My first rolls were made in his basement using the solo play scenario. From there, he was my GM and my first games were solo games while he ran a stable of NPC’s…

    From there, I have been willing to try almost any game that people are playing and I have always been searching for rules that were a mix of easy, balanced, and fun…its a good life.

    >WBM

    • wrathofzombie

      Yeah I think role-playing is a great creative outlet, even for those who would otherwise not be “creative” per-say.

      There is something magical about the first sessions of RPGing, in all its novice awkward glory.

  • AJ Butterwick

    7th grade for me, and I went In Search of the Unkown. Another kid I had just met in Junior High School (1978 or so) was reading the book. So I asked. And then we rolled up a random character on the charts in the module. At one point, I got a wish in one room, got an iron golem as a companion, then had it go insane and turn on me. I was hooked.

    My grandmother, of all people given the flak about the game at the time, gave me both the Basic rules (Keep on the Borderland) and the Expert rules (Isle of Dread) for Christmas that year. Been running (mostly) or playing (not as much) ever since.

    AJ

  • Anarkeith

    I read an article about D&D in an issue of Games magazine in 1979. I was playing various strategy war games at the time and D&D sounded awesome. Rode down to my FLGS and bought a boxed set and started DMing for friends. Unfortunately it took over a year before I was able to play myself. I still have my character sheet for my elven fighter, Tirgalendil.

  • Chuck

    It was so long ago. The older brother of one my friends invited us to a D&D game. And sounding like the old grognard that I am, it was White Box. And then one thing lead to another. Pretty soon I was running my own campaign. The people I met there got me to my very first SF convention. My geek life had begun.

Leave a Reply

