Looking Forward to Dark Sun

Oooh Dark Sun


First off here are three great reviews about Dark Sun.

Here is one on RPG.Net.
This one is by the awesome NewbieDM.

And here is one by Points of Light.

I have to say that I am really excited for the Dark Sun Campaign Setting?

“Gasp!” you say? “How can this be?! You do not play 4e! Poser! Heretic! Sinner! Atheist!”

Well I am a Heretic, Sinner, and definitely an Atheist… but that isn’t the point of this post.. or is it?

Focus Mike Focus

Yes.. Dark Sun.

I really didn’t get to play much of the original setting when I was younger, but what I did get to play and what I heard of the setting made me really appreciate it and want to play more of it.

With the 4e setting release I plan to take it and convert it to either Savage Worlds or Pathfinder.

I may not like the direction that Wizards has taken DnD, but I am not against purchasing a product from them if I feel that it is worth while or has something cool in it. That is why I got the DMG 2 (here’s a review I did for that- Part 1 and Part 2).

Honestly there was quite a bit of useful stuff in the 4e DMG 2 for any aspiring or veteran DM/GM, as is the case with the Game Mastery Guide for Pathfinder having something to offer any DM/GM who doesn’t play Pathfinder/3.x.

From what I’ve read, it sounds like WotC has done a good job (for the most part) preserving the feel of Dark Sun, and I think my players would like to be in a world that tends to be one of gray where the moral compass is pretty low.

I can already tons of adventure in this kind of inhospitable world where the players have to have their wits about them to survive.

Systems

I can see Dark Sun being fun with both Pathfinder and Savage Worlds. I just need to debate on what kind of feel I want for the game. I think that the setting would be particularly brutal using Savage Worlds.

I can also see it being fun to do Pathfinder and utilize all the yummy goodies that have been incorporated into the system with the addition of the Advanced Players Guide.

I’ll just have to see after I read the book fully which system jumps out at me.

What about you? Are you looking forward to Dark Sun? What system would you convert Dark Sun to, if you so choose to?

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

5 responses to “Looking Forward to Dark Sun

  • Shadrack

    I’m also excited about Dark Sun, especially if you get a good conversion into Savage Worlds. The Sundered Skies book could give you a headstart on using degradeable materials in SavW, at least a bit of a rules head-start. I’ve also seen Thri-keen worked up someplace before. Probably in the Spelljammer conversion, but I don’t remember offhand.

    I will be watching to see what you come up with. (and may offer a thought or two along the way – assuming you go Savage Worlds).

  • anarkeith

    Regardless of which RPG ruleset you use, the idea of Dark Sun and Athas is a pretty cool change of pace from standard RPG themes. Getting you players onboard with the hunt for resources concept as opposed to hunt for loot, is (in my opinion) the hardest part of it.

    My experiences with 2e Dark Sun when it was originally released were pretty memorable. I enjoyed playing in survival mode, facing challenges on the edge, and working to improve abilities and party cohesion.

    You can play it as a dark, apocalyptic world, with nihilistic characters and a futile sense of desperation, or you can go a more heroic route and see what your characters can do to help Athas be reborn.

  • Dark Sun: A Dungeons and Dragons Game Day « jebbx@notarealdotcom

    […] Looking Forward to Dark Sun from Wrathofzombie’s Blog ” Role-playing (wrathofzombie.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

