Pathfinder Recap- Session One, Behind the Scenes!

Yesterday I mentioned that for my current Pathfinder game I would be posting the session recaps on my Obsidian Portal page (1st session recap- part 1 and part 2) and any other tidbits on the blog. So here they are. I will put excerpts from the session recap and then do some explaining of what went on.

The group traveled down the stairs to Cold Iron wrought door where two more guards knocked on it when seeing the group. A plate slid open and a pair of eyes glanced at them. “Password?” said a gruff voice that belonged to the pair of eyes.

Leo opened his mouth to speak and his eyes go wide as he realizes he forgot the password. “Umm.. uhh.. Bumble Muffin?”

“Correct.” Said the voice.

This was a hilarious moment. The group was in front of the door and I said in the gruff voice, “Password?” Then pointed at Elmer and said asked for the password. Elmer looked shocked and a little unprepared and pretty much did what was described above. Everyone started laughing and it was decided that a Bumble Muffin was a delicacy of The Oak.

Leo drops to his knees and channels arcane energies attempting to heal his brother. He feels shock when his powers seem to not even register that James is there. James’s head flies up suddenly and looks at Leo, and begins speaking nonsense, “Devourers, eyes in the darkness, madness and tongues.” All escape his lips, talking to no one in particular. One of the veins on James face swells larger and bursts, pouring a slimy liquid down his front.

This was a great moment because it was tense for Elmer and he got really into character, which is awesome. It was also great because when I was describing the state of James I could see some of the revulsion on my players faces. I actually got a groan from some of them when I described the vein on his face popping. Priceless.

The group charged in and began cutting down the Goblins ranks. After several intense seconds of fighting and almost losing Herger and Laila to goblins who clambered on top of them and burst into a pile of acidic slime, the group rested, looking at the fallen creatures around them.

The almost losing Herger and Laila part isn’t an exaggeration. I will admit that the Acing Damage in DnD may not be such a good idea, especially when you roll like I do.

I’m not kidding. My players fear my rolls- I roll crits all the time on my d20, and pretty decent damage. Savage Worlds have given my players cause to fear all my other dice now because I ace like a son of a bitch.

On one attack I did to John (Herger) the goblin did 24 points of damage on a d8 (I aced three times in a row and then stopped because it was ridiculous). So I think I’m scrapping acing damage idea for DnD. I AM keeping the use of Bennies/Action Points though for healing surges and etc. That did work to great effect this session.

“GUYS!” Screams Laila. The group whips around and is shocked to see her fighting off a horde of Goblins, but unlike any Goblin they had ever seen. These creatures looked to be infected with the same disease or curse as James.

For these Goblins, I wanted to make them unique and different from the standard trope. I believe I accomplished that when I designed their abilities. However, due to my ability to ace just standard damage, I didn’t use one of the mechanics I designed (Acid Burst) because it would have been overkill on my players.

I used the standard states for the Pathfinder Bestiary for the Goblins and added the following two abilities:

Acid Burst– Each time the goblin takes piercing or slashing weapon damage acid spews forth from the wound in a 10 foot line. 1d6 damage, Fort DC 10; success half damage.

Acid Death– A Goblin will attempt to grapple the target- if successful it will open its mouth and a large glob mucus like acid spews out. The creature shudders and its body seems to be collapsing as the goo expands and dumps on the player causing 2d8 damage. The goblin is dead after that.

So that’s it for Session One Behind the Scenes!

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

One response to “Pathfinder Recap- Session One, Behind the Scenes!

Leave a Reply

