Herpa Derpa Dink and a question about Traveller.

So I’ve been busy and away from posting for a few weeks now. So I’m sorry. Reasoning, aside from RL activities and school work, is that I have been busy at work for a role-playing idea that I had.. I have been hammering out the details and it is coming along nicely..

I know I am being vague here, but once the project is done 100% I shall be putting it up on the blog for anyone to snatch up or whatever..

Now a few weeks back I mentioned wanting to run a sci-fi game that wasn’t Star Wars (possibly, may just end up doing Star Wars because we all love it.. save my gf). I’ve seen quite a few people mention Traveller and whatnot… I’m curious on people’s opinions of it.. And which rule-set of Traveller is the best. Is there a Savage Worlds rule set? How does the T-20 lite rule set hold up?

Thanks much!

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

One response to “Herpa Derpa Dink and a question about Traveller.

  • Astronut

    I can’t speak for the Traveller sets, but there is no Savage Worlds straight sf setting (as far as I’m aware) as yet. What there is, is a set of 3 PDF toolkits by “Wiggy” – Science Fiction Gear Toolkit, Science Fiction Bestiary Toolkit and Science Fiction World Builder Toolkits – available from Pinnacles’ site or Drivethru for about 13 dollars apiece. They’re basically GURPS-style grab bag collections of new rules, equipment, monsters, advice and so forth, for building your own setting.

    Also, Battlefield Press will be releasing their Traveller-based version of the Terran Trade Authority RPG (originally a d20-based game by Morrigan) in the summer and are doing a Savaged edition as well. The TTA setting is based on a set of 4 British hardbacks from the early 80s, featuring a set of stories and background information based on novel cover artwork. It’s kind of Traveller or Firefly in feel (although lower-tech than Trav) with added weird events (wrecked ships, mysterious aliens and psionic planets…). You can find out more on Wikipedia if you’re interested.

    Jon

Leave a Reply

