A Character Creation Questionnaire.

I’m posting this after a comment from Anarkeith. This is a questionnaire that I gave to my players in my current DnD 3.5/Pathfinder game.

Feel free to use it, comment on it, or whatever.

Character Creation Questions

1) What is your characters name?
2) What does your character look like? (Age, height, weight, eye color, hair color, what kind of clothing does your character usually wear? What do they wear when unarmored?
3) What do you see as your future goals? Both long term and short term.
4) What do you think is the best thing about you?
5) What is your biggest weakness?
6) What is your greatest strength?
7) What is the most enjoyable thing you remember doing? What is the most significant thing you remember doing?
8 ) How do you feel about your group members thus far? Are you paranoid, or weary about any of them? Do you respect any of them? Why?
9) What would you like to know about each one of your party members (ie- how they got a scar? Have they ever been in battle? Have they ever lost someone they loved?)
10) What makes you most excited?
11) What do you enjoy the least?
12) What do you fear the most?
13) Why do you think you’re here?
14) Tell me about your past, where you’re from, your family, notable accomplishments or failures, any significant other relationships or jobs.
15) There’s a dangerous creature approaching your group quickly, you _______________________________________________
16) A quote that personifies you the essence of your character.
17) What is your worst memory?
18) What is your best memory?
19) How do you feel about the other “playable” races (dwarves, elves, gnomes, humans, half-orcs, half-elves)?
20) If you feel strongly, positive or negative, towards a race, why?
21) Have you ever been in love? Are you still?
22) Are you married? If so where is your significant other?
23) What would you do if you lost that person?
24) List 5 of your favorites (ie- color, food, drink, animal, past time, skill, etc.).
25) Out of character- What is something you would like to see your character do? Something that would happen to them?
26) Create an edge for your character.
27) Create a flaw for your character.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

5 responses to “A Character Creation Questionnaire.

  • Brunomac

    I have always given a hand out to my players with typical stuff like – Friends, enemies, likes, dislikes, goals etc. in addition to physical descriptions. I usually start asking for it filled out by 3rd or 4th level. Even though I offer an experience bonus for thougtful ones, you’d be suprised how many players don’t give it back (lazy?). But it is fun and inspiring for me to read them when working on an upcoming game.

    I like that yours goes a bit deeper than mine, and asks the right questions. Something like this can help a player who doesn’t do a great job at inner visualization.

    I am a player friendly DM who loves the character development process, and likes to be there with the player all the way. This is another great tool to help be a “Godfather” to the PC.

  • Anarkeith

    This looks great. I will definitely lift a few of these for my follow-up questionnaire!

    You mentioned in your reply to the Chargen post that sometimes you felt like you were getting too much information. I’d liken that to the times as a DM that I’ve been sitting there with ten pages of story and we’ve played for four hours and we’re still on page one. Yeah, most of that will never see the light of day… But it’s there. And it will add depth. I’m really excited about getting my players more involved with world creation, an area that I have always guarded very, very jealously. I now realize that the key to a great, long-lived campaign lies in that kind of player involvement.

    • wrathofzombie

      Oh don’t get me wrong, I love deeply detailed stories and deep role-playing. If there is something that the character wants to see come to fruition or done, I tell them to talk to me, email me, text me, or whatever and I shall, when it is able to be placed in the story, place it in the story/campaign.

      The one thing I have to put out there, is that my players are casual and sometimes getting info out of them can be difficult, until their creative motor gets going… I find that either what I posted in the chargen of just two simple plot hooks and one (or more) NPC’s (plus the hinderances and edges of SW) all generate story fairly well.

      My questionnaire, I feel, is pretty concise. It gives the and when all filled out usually averages a page to three pages long, depending on player. It does give each player a very good idea of their character and gives me an idea how they are going to handle different things, as well as something they want to see happen to their character.

  • Omar

    I am the TB after all 🙂

  • Stephen

    That’s a nice questionnaire. I like question 15 – it reminds me of my berserker/barbarian dwarf with the huge ax. Also question 2 is nice, because there is often the assumption in D&D that the characters are always wearing their armor, which is not always true. I would recommend starting every session asking who is wearing armor, and having the NPCs react accordingly.

Leave a Reply

