Finally back to some DnD time!

It’s been over a month since we have gotten to play the current DnD campaign due to trying Savage Worlds and cancellations, so I was really excited to play on Sunday!

Unfortunately I hit a snag by finding out that over half my players couldn’t make it, so I was left with the choice on whether to go ahead with the session or cancel and mope and play WoW all day.

Cancellation be damned, says I! I want to play! I don’t want to wait till our NEXT role-playing date, October 4th!

Players:
• Angie (Kaias- Human/Werewolf- Rogue lvl 12)
• John (Griffith- Elf Vampire- Ranger lvl 12)
• Liam (Alberic- Half Green Dragon- Sorcerer lvl 12)

We left off last session with the group hearing that information bout the Five Blades may be found at Mongrave University in Sharn. The group talks it over and decides that is where they will be heading.

Starting the Session Off With an Assassination Attempt and a Gift

I started the session 3 days after talking to the Old Sage and learning about Sharn, describing the group asleep in their beds while sugar plumps and mutilation danced in their heads.

I told Kaias that she heard a slight sounds and wasn’t sure, but maybe her sharp nose was picking up a smell in her sleep. *I didn’t have her roll anything, this was simply for fun and setting mood, no need to spoil it by a botched roll*

Angie: “I listen for a quick second and then crack my eyes open.”

Me: “You see a man standing on your bed above you, dressed in black, with a dagger (silver) held above his head, bringing it down at your heart.”

Angie: I grapple the son of a bitch to the ground! I have a 13 in grapple.”

*I made this assassin to be a total amateur and joke so I knew this was going to be fun. I gave him a 4 in Grapple. I rolled a 6.. Woohoo. Angie rolled 25*

Me: “Alright, you lunge out of your bed, tackling him with such force that his dagger pops out of his hand and spins in place a few times, before clattering to the ground.”

*Everyone laughs*

Kaias quickly intimidates and finds out that this would be assassin was hired in a bar called the Dead Lady in Karnnath. A picture of her from a newspaper clipping is circled with a note, “Kill the lycanthrope, but leave the rest alone.” He also mentions that while the men who hired him were leaving he heard the words Handar and towers.

Waking the rest of the group up, Kais explains the situation and tells them she is going to De Pan to get more answers and explain the options of a plan that she has hatched.

Waking De Pan up, the plan is decided that he will watch the assassin, while they get their doppelganger rogue and their human artificer/fighter friends to go to Karnnath and meet at the bar the assassin was hired and see if they can dig up any information, while the group goes to Sharn since it is possible that the word towers referred to the City of Towers…

I really liked this idea because it allows the group to continue on the main story line while I do things “off-camera” that also furthers my working in of Angie’s back-story.

After the group finishes outlining their plan, De Pan says that he might as well do this since they have woken him up at 4 in the morning. He opens a cabinet and displays for the three of them, displaying magical items.

I explain to the group that they get to choose the magical item up to a +3 rating from the DMG or Pathfinder Core rule book. I suggest that they choose something for utility rather than battle, because they have enough stuff for that.

This, and dinner (I crock potted us a roast with potatoes and carrots), actually soaked up quite a bit of the session.

In the end three very good decisions were made: Angie choose cloak of the bat, adding +5 to her stealth, allowing her to fly as per the spell, and polymorph herself into a bat. John chose a cloak of resistance, adding +3 to all of his saves. Liam chose a Robe of the Archmagi (but at half value). Giving him a spell resistance of 9, +2 to all saves, a +2 to overcoming others spell resistance, and +5 to AC.

After that the characters went back to sleep, started packing over the next couple of days to be teleported to Sharn by Alberic.

The morning came and the group found themselves outside while Alberic finished preparing the teleport spell. He finally cast it, and in a flash of light the group found themselves on a plateau, with the ruined city of Sharn in the distance, and the ocean to one side.

Right after the quick description of immediate surrounding the group hears shouting, coming from left and right.. and the thunder of hundreds of feet, coming at them.. from both sides..

Angie: “Oh God! You teleported us right into the middle of a battle!”

Tomorrow- “You teleported us into a battle?! Can’t you do anything right?!”

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

5 responses to “Finally back to some DnD time!

Leave a Reply

