Worldwork Games and TerrainlinX

If you havent’ checked these out, do so now, it’s awesome!

My question is, does anyone have experience with print yourself terrain maps and 3d building? How do they look, production wise? What is the actual cost for the person printing What kind of paper is needed?

Thanks!

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

3 responses to “Worldwork Games and TerrainlinX

  • Kevin

    Papercraft stuff is actually pretty cool 🙂 It really doesn’t take a lot of effort to get some pretty amazing looking stuff, but the main concern that people have is that it’s going to be weak because, well, it’s paper. Truth be told though, 90% of miniatures terrain is made of cardboard/foamcore anyway so it’s only as bad as the materials you choose to use.

    I haven’t downloaded the Terrain LinX stuff as I have my own designs for things like that, but I did download the Maiden of the High Seas, which is their Pirate style ship. As I type this I’m literally 3 steps away from finishing the model and it looks absolutely amazing!

    To answer your other questions: The cost to you depends on the materials you use. you’ll likely use up at least one whole colour inkjet cartridge printing a full set. This can be really expensive, but there are ways around that, like using inkjet refills or generic cartridges and so on.

    There’s also the board involved. Mostly you’ll be printing on 200-240gsm board (That’s metric, I think the US equivalent would be 110lb cardstock, but I’m not sure so don’t quote me on that :P). Worldworks games products often include a few pages meant to be printed on ink-jet transparencies (to use for windows and the like) so you may want to get a few of those as well. The terrainlinx stuff relies on foam core for all it’s base boards and couplers, so you’ll need a fair amount of that too. You could cheap out and use plain corrugated board like they make packaging from, and that’ll save you a bundle cos it’s free, but the quality of the finished product will suffer, and you’ll blunt a lot of knife blades cutting through it. Finally, the glue. You don’t want to use any old glue, cos the high water content will likely warp your scenery. You’d want to use spray glue for the big flat stuff, and a low water content liquid glue specifically designed for paper on all your detailed stuff.

    In short, it’s going to cost you a fair bit of cash, beyond just the purchase, and it’s going to require a lot of effort and patience to put it together, but compared to the prices you’d pay if you bought the whole set as a Games Workshop Plastic Kit, you’d likely pay 5 times the price and spend just as much time trying to make it look good, and if you were going to try scratch build it, you’d use the same materials so it’d cost the same, and it’d take 5 times as long to get it looking nice.

    In my humble opinion, the TerrainlinX stuff is totally worth the purchase, and you know I mean that cos I’m technically one of their competitors 🙂

  • Dice Monkey

    I’ve begun implementing some 3D terrain, both World Works Games stuff and Fat Dragon Games, and they’ve been phenomenal. I’ll be posting up pictures and reviews soon on my blog.

Leave a Reply

