Canon problems in a Star Wars campaign, Part Two

If your just tuning in, here is part one of the post.

Also check out this Penny Arcade strip.. Cracks me up.. Both are me, so I’m double screwed.
My players aren’t Star Wars nuts like me…

What a shocker right? Most of my friends have a love for Star Wars, the Holy Trilogy, or the Legacy or older comics, but really I’m the only one that has a deep deep DEEP love for Star Wars ( I have Star Wars tattoos for fuck sake).

Now as I mentioned in the previous post that with my players I usually avoid the whole canon argument, and this is because they don’t know Star Wars like I do. So this is both good and can be frustrating (in really a minor way). In the game I was running in the New Republic area, they eventually ran into Booster Terrik. Almost anyone who has read the expanded universe books, knows who Booster is.. My players, no. This did not illicit any type of response, which I expected and was prepared for.

Yes it is a little frustrating, yes, but not horrible. I just had to explain a very brief history that he was a major shaker in liberating Coruscant from the Empire, etc. So they knew he was important. They also learned his was more than an old man when a player insulted his daughter to his face. Got the beat down.

This is easier because I don’t have to worry about players trying to take a pot shot at him just to test the waters, or try using player knowledge as a character trying to glimmer some information that they wouldn’t have access to or knowledge of.

Running a Star Wars game is a pain in the ass!

It is very true that it can be, but for many people and gamers Star Wars holds a very special place in their hearts and this can make the games really rewarding.

Star Wars has a rich history and the expanded universe is awesome (when it isn’t being contradicted and deconstructed by a maniacal megalomaniac)

A face of evil?

A face of evil?

So if the Star Wars universe is somewhere you are wanting to run a game, and you are worried about canon and player conflict, all you have to do is have the birds and the bees talk about how the canon will be handled in your story and why. The players shouldn’t feel hindered by this because, yes it is their story, but a selfish/poorly made choices can ruin it all for everyone, and generally no player wants that to happen!

Hrm.. All this Star Wars talk makes me thing in the coming months I should run another campaign.. *gears start turning*

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

4 responses to “Canon problems in a Star Wars campaign, Part Two

  • Ashimar2

    Just started reading your blog. I love it keep up the good work.

    On the Star Wars thing, I have trouble running games because of the canon. But the solution I usually come up with is it is not cannon. So if the player had taken out Mace Windu in your story then it changes the timeline which I think is actually kinda cool.

    • wrathofzombie

      Thanks for the praise Ash! I appreciate it.

      You can totally make the Star Wars universe a non-canon descriptor, and some people love that and go at it with unprecedented gusto.

      I just think that a talk needs to happen to let the players know where you as the GM stand on it. And there needs to be an agreement between players and GM on where they all stand on canon.

      Even if people agree that canon isn’t canon in there is an expectation in the Star Wars universe, which is one of the reasons people love it and want to play in it. And even though there is acceptance that there is no canon, it can cause the a geek twinge in the brain when something doesn’t happen the way it should or does in the movies.

  • katanageldar

    So, you’re arguing for canon shields, then? That’s as almost bad as a character shield, I think. There is more to running a Star Wars game than just having a fantasy tour of charcacter and events.

    There’s also the fact that the events of the Star Wars movies are someone else’s story. Players do want their own story they can control and be the heroes of. It’s a big galaxy.

    • wrathofzombie

      No not at all. Maybe I didn’t put it the way I wanted *scratches head* but all I merely state is to have a talk with your players to lay the ground work of how characters and canon will interact and work in the campaign. If the players want to throw canon to the wind and go after Darth Vader, then go for it. If they want to preserve canon, then I say perserve it and work with and around it.

Leave a Reply

