I’ll role-play a druid, but a true druid I am not.

On Friday 7/3/09 my g/f wanted to go hiking in the Pine Barrens in New Jersey. So we pack up some lunches, grab bug spray for us, and bug and tick spray for the dog and drive our butts down there.

Now let me put this into perspective. I HATE being in nature.. That doesn’t mean I don’t like nature, think nature is beautiful, or enjoy looking at it.. I just hate BEING in nature. Every time I go into nature, nature fights back, kicks my ass, and throws me off a cliff to an early death.

So for me to hike, and not bitch a mighty storm, was an effort. I did it because it was important to my girlfriend, and thus, being a good boyfriend, I did it without complaining.

It was a simple 6 mile hike to a lake, flat, and beautiful out. Now, for the most part I actually had a great time talking with my g/f. It was only the kamikaze bugs that kept trying to fly up my nose, in my mouth, in my ears, or just in my general direction that started to annoy me.

When we got to the lake there was a picnic area that we decided to eat at. While eating I felt a tickle on my leg, looked down and saw THREE ticks on my leg, tangled in my leg hair.. I HATE ticks.. They are vile evil little creatures that make me scream like a little girl and take off running for the nearest patch of civilization.

Vile, disgusting, blood-sucking parasite

Vile, disgusting, blood-sucking parasite

So I look down at my dog and she has ticks all over paws.. So needless to say that the tick repellent that I paid over $10.00 did absolutely bunk.

We stayed for a bit longer, the entire time my skin feels like it is crawling, but my girlfriend loving every minute of the solitude and relaxation.

When we got back to the car I sprayed the dog down with the spray again and we drove home. I pulled off 8 dead ticks when we got home.

It is now a week later and we have pulled of 30 ticks, in total from my dog.. We got a really powerful flea/tick dip shampoo last night and bathed her, we’ll see how it holds up.

So druids my have pass without a trace, commune with animals, and cast some truly gnarly spells, but this person runs wee wee all the way home when encountering a small, little, nasty, vile, and putrid blood sucking critter.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

2 responses to “I’ll role-play a druid, but a true druid I am not.

Leave a Reply

