Role-playing and the end of the world.

My friends and I always used to joke that we would do fine if society crumbled down and we had to revert back to living in huts or whatever because we role-played.

I don’t mean that role-playing would have given us any skills of merit or awesome battle wounds that, aside from a might paper cut, would impress the new chieftain’s daughter or anything… In fact role-players would probably be the first to be eaten when the starving populace turns to cannibalism.

But I digress. What we meant by this was many people would be devastated without their laptops, mp3 players, cell phones, entertainment centers, video games, etc. While role-players would also be going through these withdraws, we are armed with a hobby that lets us just plop down, easily, for hours of fun.

I used to say, “If the world ends, all I need is some dice and I’ll be fine.”

Although I think what we role-played would change greatly.. Instead of playing post apocalyptic or fantasy games, we would be playing games where people went to shopping malls, got slurpies, and gossip about the latest episode of some tv show… *shudders* Oh the horror of that thought…

Alright, enough blabbing about nothing.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

2 responses to “Role-playing and the end of the world.

  • Kimyou

    The pre-apocalyptic genre has yet to be explored!

    “Imagine a world with whole roads, cars and shopping malls, a world where you wake up every morning at more or less the same time to go to the office, present yourself to a staff meeting, complete paperwork, come home by 6, have some chicken and peas and watch TV for 3 hours before going to sleep or engaging in post-marital sex!”

    I don’t think it would catch on…

    • wrathofzombie

      One can only hope that it will never catch on.. Then again I never thought a game like the Sims would catch on…. I remember when that came out and was all the craze and I tried it, did the house builder aspect and really enjoyed that. I think that aspect, while completely nerdy in such a way that I hide my head in shame, was fun.. The people were telling me to give the game a go.. So I did.. And I played for about 3-4 hours and was having fun. My sim had just gotten home from work, his entertainment bar was low so I popped him on his computer to get that bar up when I had an epiphany… Here I am.. sitting on my computer, playing a guy playing a computer who seems to be having WAY more fun than I am.. And why the hell am I playing a game where I have to go to WORK!? WTF?!

      After that I never went near the games again.

Leave a Reply

