Trying a new system..

So I bought 4e about 2 months back because I wanted to test it out for myself. I didn’t want to not give the system a shot just because I love 3.5 or because of all the adamant hatred and resistance geared towards the system as a whole. I also didn’t want and was not roped into the whole “yay! It’s a new system, I can’t wait!” I was cautious, and I read review after review trying to find the in-between… The rational that was hard to find due to the edition wars that had sprouted up.. So I left it alone for awhile..

So as I said I bought the core rules, PHB 2, and the DM screens about 2 months ago. My girlfriend balked because I spent $100 on the purchase of a system that there was a huge possibility that I wasn’t going to like. I told her that even if I didn’t like the system that there MUST be something of merit in the books and that we could add it to our 3.5/3.75 (Pathfinder) game. And so I started reading the books, and pretty much read through all 4 books in about a week and a half.. My brain was pudding by the end and I had to stop reading all the class powers.. I wasn’t going to remember them all and I figured I would read the powers up to +2 levels of the classes that my players chose, just in case they had questions or wanted guidance.

So I sat down, made a few characters and play tested the system with my girlfriend a few times, played with some friends, and played with my girlfriend a final time.. Each time we all discussed the pros and cons of the system, and as fascinating as my take on it is, I don’t need to put that on the blog.. At least not to day..

In short we all felt that we really didn’t care for the classes. I really do like the changes that have been made to the mechanics, as I have said in previous posts, and as such I have adopted some of those rules into my 3.5 game or tweeked them or been inspired by them.

So 3.5/3.75 is my preferred DnD system, and as I have stated before I have no hatred of 4e, if that’s what you want to play, more power to you.. But I’m still interested in trying a new system, and I’ve seen quite a few people talk about different systems on RPG Bloggers. I read reviews on some of them, and listened to bloggers talk about their love and hatred of systems, and finally decided to give Savage Worlds a try. One of the sites that helped me come to this decision was Dice Monkey with his whole take on Savage Twilight (not that I’m a fan of the series). He just mentioned how easily things can be adapted to SW and whatnot.

Also, not to sales pitch, but the PHB of SW is only $10! How the hell can you go wrong with that?

Hopefully I’ll have my book this week, and after I am done reading it and play testing it a bit, I’ll share my thoughts on the system. Also if I like it I will be purchasing the 50 Fathoms and Dead Lands books^_^

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

Leave a Reply

