Really… One Year Later…

For what led me up to this point, read my last post. So my players were on their way to cure the Blight in game terms, but what would happen to our world once that was done? Where would that leave my players? I looked at what was missing in the game currently, and that was healthy-ish villages, towns, cities, etc, the ability to really interact with NPC’s beyond a level of survival, being able to adventure without being totally bogged down by fear.

I knew that when the Blight ended that the world would start becoming a much less dangerous place, but society wouldn’t pick up the pieces immediately, and there would be much “work” to be done. I didn’t want the players to have to slog through that in actual game play, even though I thought of many tasty adventures and plot points that would have been quite a bit o’ fun.. So I decided that since curing the Blight was the close of a complete story arc, why not have a flash forward… So I decided that the next session would take place a year later.

The group had been out in the wilds for a year helping clear caverns, ruins, rebuilding villages, etc. I rolled on random treasure that they found during the year and at the beginning of the session, told them, and they distributed it. It was a busy year and they made a good haul. Considering that at the session before they were level 8 and didn’t have that much money.. I was making up for it.

The start of the session had them returning back to Odilimarah’s Haven for the first time in a year after the Blight. The players were excited because I said that there would be a bit o’ change to the city, not just in mechanics, but for them as well and what they’ll be able to do now.

Another thing I had told them that was going to start, thanks to advice from Johnn Four, was a newsletter that would allow them to keep track of pertinent info and review in-between each session (for us usually we role-play every 2 weeks), called the Balling Bard Gazette.

So I told them to come prepared for a fun campaign ready with new stuff and the world being completely different from the one they’ve known for over half a year…

*Next: The new Chapter Starts*

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

Leave a Reply

