My Philly Campaign is about to kick off!

Saturday, 6/20 marks the day that my Philly campaign will start with the community created homebrew world. I’ve gotten the map created, thanks to Campaign Cartographer (love that program), and I have the feel and setting, plus the overall introduction story for them, and the upcoming New Jersey campaign I will also run in this same world.
I’ve gotten kind of bored while knights in shining armor, even in the Eberron world. Don’t get me wrong, I love Eberron, and I think it breathed new life into worlds that were kind of getting old and tired. So I was rolling ideas back and forth in my head about what would make a good setting. I was tempted to run a militaristic Roman style campaign, but it was still too close to the standard “dark ages” feel….
A few weeks ago I was with my g/f and her mother was visiting us from Montana (where we both lived until 4 years ago when we came out here). We were doing the touristy things in the area with her, which led us to the Rocky Steps (from the movie). In front of it is a huge statue (you can’t see it, but the man on the horse is George Washington) and I looked at it, and this explosion of ideas hit me about a game run an era like the colonial era of the 17th and 18th century! Ball and powder muskets with bayonets! No armor except light! Druids and rangers more like Native Americans, etc! How cool?! Then I got to thinking that I’ve never really run a pirate campaign before and that would be awesome. I like the pulp action feel of Eberron and that is something I didn’t want to lose. So with movies like Brotherhood of the Wolf, Pirates of the Caribbean, Last of the Mohicans, Princes Bride, and, even though this don’t fit the setting, Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Sin City, and Watchmen all filling my head with great action and inspiration for a storyline for both distinct and separate groups.
Viola! I now have my world feel! I have my system mechanics hammered out! See (this post) for my meanderings on that.
What also is great is my girlfriend and 2 other people of my NJ group (one who now lives in Philly) will be going to Philly with me to play with a friend, who moved to Philly to be with his g/f, now wife, his wife, and her sister. All three of them have no role-playing experience. I love playing with new gamers.
I wouldn’t say I specialize in anything… but for lack of a better word.. I kinda do.. I am really good with new gamers, breaking them in, and having fun. I’m sure some Veteran gamers would hate my style of lose rules and high octane action in the name of fun and a good time. At the same time, I’ve been told I have a good distinct style that is really fun… Alright enough of pud scrubbing.. No more boat floating, bad Mikey!
We’ll kick off this Saturday with making characters and then BAM right into the action! I’ll be sure to post a recap of it on Monday!

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

Leave a Reply

