Hamethus (Blood of the Gods)

Starting Islands

Starting Islands

So my homebrew world is starting to take off. I started working with Gimp 2.0 and GIMPhex (awesomely recommended by The Zhodani Base.
I started playing with GIMP today and I like it. Not as elegant as Campaign Cartographer 3 (link), but it’s free, simple to use and for my purposes, just fine. Though I do want to get another copy of CC3 and the dungeon cart add on.
Today I built the islands of my world, which is called Hamethus, which means Blood of the Gods. Tacky I know, but eh, it’s fantasy… what are you gonna do?
The one thing I was wary about with a homebrew world was I tended to, in past homebrew worlds, create a rich back story, kingdoms, etc only to have the characters never go there… sigh.. yeah I know I know.. The standard rule, if you don’t use it now, save it for later, but damn.. How much saving can one person do?
So as I stated in a previous post about this being a shared creation, I didn’t want to layout the whole world. I have a theme, etc. I also didn’t want to leave the bulk of the work for my players so I took steps in the creation process.. Things can be altered to fit their likes, etc.
The game will be set in a colonial era style setting, pirates of the Caribbean style (well the first movie really.. Can’t stand the second or third parts, but you get the idea).
Anyways, I would also do the map creating in sections as well. I have, on paper, the whole world in literally a flat sense. I have mental and physical notes and themes for the areas. So I created the area where both NJ and PA players will start and mapped out many of the areas, leaving some for player contribution.
So here it is.. My island map for their starting area:

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

Leave a Reply

