I Like Session Recaps. Do you?

I have read on some blogs that the author considers it a faux pas to put a recap of their role-playing sessions on their blog. That is their choice and I respect that.

If you follow my rinky dink blog at all you know I post my recaps. I’m also an avid reader of other people’s recaps.

Oh So Many Words.. Why?

I read other gaming groups recaps for several reasons.

1) I don’t get to game as much as I would like and this is a way for me to live vicariously through another group’s excitement.
2) To see how other groups react to situations and challenges.
3) To possibly learn something new from my fellow GMs and players.
4) For inspiration.

There is much to be garnered and enjoyed from session recaps. I support people and thank them for taking the time to type up their adventures for others to enjoy.

Many times I feel it is a thankless job, because not many people comment on the blog to let the author know that they have enjoyed the stories.

How do you feel about session recaps? Are there any in particular that you enjoy?

Here are a few recaps that I am currently reading:

Dead Reign- A zombie apocalypse game
Honor Among Thieves- A Serenity game.
The Melker Chronicles- A Fantasy game (4e I believe).
Reavers on the Seas of Fate- A Pirate Pathfinder Game. This site has a TON of awesome session recaps for other games as well!
Chatty DM has some awesome session recaps! You’ll have to do some back tracking though and sift through his extensive blog.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

9 responses to “I Like Session Recaps. Do you?

  • Chuck

    It’s always hit or miss. The recaps need to be interesting and not “then Bob rolled to hit”. Blah.Blah. It gets kind of boring.

  • seaofstarsrpg

    I like them when they are, a) not too long, & b) written as a story rather than just a set of events.

  • Roleplay-geek

    I am currently doing session recaps on my campaign site purely for my players so they can check my recollections of events and ultimately help me reward XP (which I do at every natural break between adventures). If I mess up and attribute a kill or the finding of a clue to someone else they’ll tell me and I can edit it, it’s almost like the minutes of a meeting.

    I don’t as a rule read other campaign blogs but thanks for the recommendations I’ll check these out.

  • mxyzplk

    Thanks for the Reavers shout-out, I’m the GM. I like session summaries (even though 10+ page ones are a lot of work) because you get insight into how someone else really runs a game. That’s why I like e.g. I Hit It With My Axe. I despise short session summaries that just say ‘we went to here, and killed a whatever…” I want either a real in depth story, or I want to see how someone else really runs/plays their game to learn from it, or ideally both (which is our goal).

    And you’re right that not many people comment – if you like session summaries, chime in on the ones you read and say you like them; a little encouragement goes a long way to keeping them coming. Groups do discuss stopping them because of the effort involved…

  • Kevin

    I play Tommy in the Reavers campaign, and I also wanted to thank you for the comments and for reading the Reavers session summaries. I too am a fan of summaries that read like a good piece of fiction. Paul who plays Ref scribes the summaries as we go along and then puts together the draft after the session. Our GM then edits for accuracy, content and color commentary. This sounds like a lot of work, and it is. And I am grateful to both of them for taking the time to do it! We all enjoy reading the replay of the session in story form, and as a player, it makes you feel like you have really shaped an epic story and given life to the campaign. This to me is the fundamental reason why most folks roleplay – to participate in a fantastic tale (Cheers, Mxyzplk!) and give life to a cast of fantastic characters (in our case some of the strangest cutthroats to ever set foot in Riddleport!). Thanks to all who follow our tale, and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as we all enjoy playing it!

  • Mike Bourke

    The quality of the writing has a great impact, as does the quality of the adventure/play being reported. It’s especially worthwhile if some lessons can be drawn from the play-by-play.

  • wrathofzombie

    I also enjoy either recaps that are told in story form or about how the GM/players executed the game so I can see how others handle situations and etc. I really like to learn things from other gamers that I will never be able to actually game with and I feel recaps are a great way to do this.

    @ Mxyzplk and Kevin- Keep up the great work and I’ll keep reading. It was actually your game that got me inspired to run a Pirate game in Freeport (http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaigns/on-the-seas-of-golarion). We just kicked it off. But due to player complications haven’t been able to continue past first session. I’m hoping to change that in April.

  • Anarkeith

    I used to do narrative recaps, since I like to write. But, they went unread, ignored, and generally unappreciated by my players. So, I’ve resorted to minimal core-detail reports. My players can recall what they need using those as prompts, and so seem satisfied. I focus my energies on session prep.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 457 other followers

