A Pathfinder Game Cometh

I bought the Pathfinder Core Rulebook when it first came out, much like a rabid dog sinking its teeth into a mailman’s leg, absolutely ecstatic that my beloved 3.5 was getting a caressing and lovingly well-done facelift.

I am truly pleased with what Piazo has done with 3.5 and the love put into their product.

Sadly I haven’t been able to run a Pathfinder campaign due to limited game time and that I’ve been, largely, focusing on my play test of Shawn Gaston’s Savage Worlds Steampunk Homebrew Setting, Clockworks.

No more however. The 3.5 bug is biting me in the ass again and I’ll start alternating between Clockworks and Pathfinder.

Where to Run, Where to Run…

At first I began formulating a homebrew setting that was inspired by Wicked (the book by Gregory Maguire and not that bastardization of the story on Broadway), mixed with elements of Star Wars, World War II, intrigue, and other things I’m honestly blanking on right now.

As I started writing my homebrew world I got to about 15 pages of info, a map using Hexographer, and other things completed, and started realizing that it was taking too much of my time to really formulate this world to where I am familiar with it, and have enough history and texture to make it a vibrant living world.

There are other reasons as well. The thing I originally envisioned was the essence of simplicity and yet obtaining a magical world, but to put in all the things I wanted it just didn’t fit with the original premise anymore and, in all honestly, might make a great story, but an uninteresting world for a RPG.

So I was thinking about going back to my old staple campaign setting that I love: Eberron. However I’ve been running Dungeons and Dragons games in Eberron since it first came out in 2004. I want a change.

I knew that there was a Pathfinder Campaign Setting out there and looked it up and saw, to my delight, that it has gotten pretty damned good reviews on every site that I looked on.

So I ordered a used copy from Amazon (should be here soon) for a really awesome price.

Once it is here I will include a review of the product and my thoughts on the different regions, as well as start giving my overview of developing the story and etc as I read it.

About wrathofzombie

I am a History major attending a community college until I can get more financial aid and attend a four year school. I am living in NJ with my girlfriend who is currently wrapping up on obtaining her PhD in Toxicology. I love Star Wars, Role-playing, video games, working out, reading, writing, and hanging with my girlfriend, dog (Perfect), and two kittens (Birch and Brambles). My main focus on this site will be my discussion of Role-playing games and ideas and hopefully contribute something worth a damn. View all posts by wrathofzombie

One response to “A Pathfinder Game Cometh

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

